Frustrations in the American Dream

My muscles hurt, my neck is stiff, and my legs are tired. I am exhausted and each and every time I slow down to take a deep breath it only gets worse. I know I was full of myself and I was wrong. I don’t have it together. I don’t have my life together and I am not as independent as I would hope to be. I can’t even sustain myself and I am trying to juggle supporting my parents and brother. It’s hard. I fall short. It brings stress and anxiety. I can’t run away from responsibilities, I cannot rely on my family, and despite my experience, expertise, education, and capabilities, I have yet to be recognized and land a job that helps me overcome economical challenges.

When does the nightmare end? Forget luxuries, I am just trying to survive. When does one catch a break? I hate the idea that I know I cannot be and search for a partner when I cannot help myself, I cannot continue my education, I cannot accomplish my goals, dreams, and aspirations. Why does it have to be this difficult?!

Leave a comment